Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

A New Partnership with the Commonwealth

Virginia higher education began a new era July 1, 2006, with all 16 public college and universities eligible to function under the Restructured Higher Education Financial and Administrative Operations Act, which allows a greater degree of authority and autonomy than universities had as a regular state agency.

Three universities — Virginia Tech, the University of Virginia, and the College of William and Mary — worked with the state administration to obtain an even higher degree of autonomy.

Management agreements delineate new authorities for:

  • Capital outlay and construction
  • Leasing
  • Finance and accounting
  • Human resources
  • Information technology
  • Procurement

All state universities developed six-year financial, academic, and enrollment plans to demonstrate their commitment to the commonwealth's needs and to ensure adequate state financial support.

While the changeover to this new system is not complete — developing a new human resources system for Tech is expected to take up to two years — we sincerely believe this arrangement will result in better education for students and greater progress for the institution without changing our devotion to the commonwealth. Virginia Tech remains a public university committed to the needs of the commonwealth.

To help the Virginia Tech community understand the effect of this legislation, the university has created this website, which contains a broad range of information on this important issue, the new authorities, an FAQ, and explanations of how the new human resources system will be developed. Please visit this website often for updated information.