Ambler Johnston Hall
Ambler Johnston Hall is a residence hall that consists of two wings connected by three cross-over lounges.
East Ambler Johnston, commonly referred to as East AJ, is home to more than 300 University Honors students living in the Honors Residential College that opened in fall 2011. The Honors Residential College is a community of faculty, staff, and students who share a deep intellectual curiosity.
This program offers freshman through senior-level university honors students and graduate students an interdisciplinary opportunity to capitalize on the rich history and tradition of Virginia Tech while living and learning with faculty and students in a unique and intentional environment. It is led by two live-in faculty principals and supported by more than 30 faculty, staff, and community members.
West Ambler Johnston, commonly referred to as West AJ, reopened in fall 2012 as the Residential College at West Ambler Johnston, a community of 830 students ranging from first-year to graduate students from all academic disciplines.
The Residential College at West Ambler Johnston consists of four "houses" of roughly 200 students, each led by a faculty member called an associate principal, a live-in graduate student called a graduate fellow and two undergraduate student leaders called resident advisors.
Eight floors; 272,019 square feet.
J. Ambler Johnston
Ambler Johnston Hall was named in 1968 for 1904 alumnus James Markham Ambler Johnston, a lifetime supporter of his alma mater, president of the Alumni Association, and co-founder of Carneal and Johnston, an architectural-engineering firm that designed many of the Collegiate Gothic buildings on campus. A Civil War authority, he helped purchase battlefields around Richmond, Va., and initiated the first cast-iron markers to identify points of interest on battlefields. He received numerous awards for preserving historic sites in Virginia.
The original construction started in 1967, the building was partly occupied in fall 1968, and it was completely occupied in 1969.
Address: 700, 720 Washington St. SW | Map Grid: M-8
Originally Built: 1969 | Abbreviation: A J
Latitude: 37.22311 | Longitude: -80.42105